Best Animated Feature Film Winners

Walt-Disney-Getting-Oscar-for-Snow-White-and-the-Seven-Dwarfs-walter-e-disney-6659154-1024-768Best Animated Feature Film

This is the youngest category at the Academy Awards. In 2001 the Academy provided this unique type of film their own category as a way to acknowledge the art of animation. Prior to this award, only a handful of animated features had gained a high level of recognition at the Oscars. Those films include Beauty and the Beast, which is the only animated feature to be nominated for Best Picture. There was also the special award given to Snow White for the innovative technical work done on the film. Thankfully, we’re now able to recognize these films on their own merits.

The winners are…

2001 – Shrek

2002 – Spirited Away

2003 – Finding Nemo

2004 – The Incredibles

2005 – Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit

2006 – Happy Feet

2007 – Ratatouille

2008 – WALL-E

2009 – Up

2010 – Toy Story 3

2011 – Rango

2012 – Brave

2013 – Frozen

2014 – Big Hero 6

2015 – Inside Out

2016 – Zootopia


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s